Executive Board


President: Sione Tu’itahi (Auckland)

Immediate Past President: Margaret M. Barry (Galway)


Global Executive Board:

  • Ann Pederson, Vice-President for Communications (Vancouver)

  • Claudia Meier Magistretti, Vice-President for Partnerships and Institutional Affairs (Bern)

  • Didier Jourdan, Vice-President for Administration (Clermont-Ferrand)

  • Angela Leung (Hong Kong)

  • Evelyne de Leeuw, Vice-President for Scientific Affairs (Sydney)

  • José Luis Castro, Vice-President for Finance (New York)

  • Louise Potvin, Vice-President for Capacity Building, Education and Training (Montréal)

  • Bhavna Mukhopadhyay (New Delhi)

  • Louise Baldwin, Vice-President for Membership (Brisbane)

  • Shu-Ti Chiou (Taipei)

  • Rosalie Aduayi Diop (Dakar)

  • Stephan Van den Broucke, Vice-President for Conferences (Louvain-la-Neuve)

Learn more about each member of the Global Executive Board and their commitment to IUHPE by reading their candidate statements.


Elected Regional Vice-Presidents:

  • Hope Corbin (Bellingham, Regional Vice President for IUHPE/NARO)

  • Paolo Contu (Cagliari, Regional Vice President for IUHPE/EURO)

  • Hiroshi Fukuda (Tokyo, Regional Vice President for IUHPE/NPWP)

  • Martin Zemel (Mar del Plata, Regional Vice President for IUHPE/ORLA)

  • Viliami Puloka (Auckland, Regional Vice President for IUHPE/SWP - interim)

  • Mary Amuyunzu-Nyamongo (Nairobi, Regional Vice President for IUHPE/AFRO - Interim)


Présidente : Sione Tu’itahi (Auckland)

Président sortant : Margaret M. Barry (Galway)


Conseil Exécutif mondial :

  •  Ann Pederson, Vice-présidente aux communications (Vancouver)

  • Claudia Meier Magistretti, Vice-présidente aux partenariats et affaires institutionnelles (Bern)

  • Didier Jourdan, Vice-président aux affaires administratives (Clermont-Ferrand)

  • Angela Leung (Hong Kong)

  • Evelyne de Leeuw, Vice-présidente aux affaires scientifiques (Sydney)

  • José Luis Castro, Vice-président aux finances (New York)

  • Louise Potvin, Vice-présidente au développement des capacités, à l'éducation et à la formation (Montréal)

  • Bhavna Mukhopadhyay (New Delhi)

  • Louise Baldwin, Vice-présidente au membership (Brisbane)

  • Shu-Ti Chiou (Taipei)

  • Rosalie Aduayi Diop (Dakar)

  • Stephan Van den Broucke, Vice-président aux conférences (Louvain-la-Neuve)

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur chacun des membres du Conseil Exécutif mondial et sur leur engagement vis-à-vis de l’UIPES en lisant leur déclaration en tant que candidat.


Vice-Présidents régionaux élus :

  • Hope Corbin (Bellingham, Vice-Présidente régionale de l’UIPES/NARO)

  • Paolo Contu (Cagliari, Vice-Président régional de l’UIPES/EURO)

  • Hiroshi Fukuda (Tokyo, Vice-Président régional de l’UIPES/NPWP)

  • Martin Zemel (Mar del Plata, Vice-Présidente régionale de l’UIPES/ORLA)

  • Viliami Puloka (Auckland, Vice-Président régional de l’UIPES/SWP - Interim)

  • Mary Amuyunzu-Nyamongo (Nairobi, Vice-Présidente régionale de l’IUHPE/AFRO - Interim)


Presidente: Sione Tu’itahi (Auckland)

Presidente saliente: Margaret M. Barry (Galway)

Junta Ejecutiva Mundial

  •  Ann Pederson (Vancouver)

  • Claudia Meier Magistretti (Bern)

  • Didier Jourdan (Clermont-Ferrand)

  • Angela Leung (Hong Kong)

  • Evelyne de Leeuw (Sydney)

  • José Luis Castro (New York)

  • Louise Potvin (Montréal)

  • Bhavna Mukhopadhyay (New Delhi)

  • Louise Baldwin (Brisbane)

  • Shu-Ti Chiou (Taipei)

  • Rosalie Aduayi Diop (Dakar)

  • Stephan Van den Broucke (Louvain-la-Neuve)

Hallará información sobre cada miembro de la Junta Ejecutiva Mundial y de su compromiso con la UIPES leyendo sus declaraciones de los candidatos.

Vicepresidentes regionales elegidos:

  • Hope Corbin (Bellingham, Vicepresidenta regional de UIPES/NARO)

  • Paolo Contu (Cagliari, Vicepresidente regional de UIPES/EURO)

  • Hiroshi Fukuda (Tokyo, Vicepresidente regional de UIPES/NPWP)

  • Martin Zemel (Mar del Plata, Vicepresidenta regional de UIPES/ORLA)

  • Viliami Puloka (Auckland, Vicepresidente regional de UIPES/SWP - interino)

  • Mary Amuyunzu-Nyamongo (Nairobi, Vicepresidenta regional de IUHPE/AFRO - Interina)



The Executive Board governs and administers the IUHPE on behalf of the General Assembly.

In particular:

  • it elects the global Vice Presidents, at its first ordinary session following the World Conference; the elected Vice Presidents hold office until the following World Conference. Following such election by the Executive Board, they are eligible to be reelected to the same office on only one further consecutive occasion. Their roles and responsibilities are laid down in Article 13 and detailed in Annex B of the Bye-Laws

  • it determines policies, strategies and integrated work programmes for the Organisation;

  • it reviews, approves and disseminates position statements which clarify and promote the policies of the IUHPE;

  • it reviews and approves a triennial integrated Work Plan;

  • it considers and approves annual accounts, provisional budgets, financial proposals, and financial reports on past and future activities. It appoints a Committee of Internal Control and receives the CIC report on financial and staff governance, as well as on risk management.

  • it approves the Global and Regional Bye-Laws, and their amendment as laid down in Article 23 ;

  • it votes on urgent measures undertaken on its behalf by the President;

  • it screens and selects potential hosts for future World Conferences on the basis of previously established criteria;

  • it is empowered to fill vacancies among global members of the Executive Board

  • it is empowered to terminate the membership of any member who brings the IUHPE into disrepute.


The Executive Board comprises:

  • the President, elected by the Executive Board for a term of three years, from among its elected members, at an extraordinary session of the incoming Executive Board, immediately following the completion of that Board. A President thus elected shall be eligible to stand for reelection for only one additional term.

  • the immediate past-President;

  • a maximum of twelve global members, elected by the General membership;

  • a maximum of three global members appointed by the Executive Board to ensure that financial and legal requirements are met.

  • the Regional Vice-Presidents

They are elected for a term of three years.